QSL History

The Qatar Professional Football League Development Committee was set up in December, 2006, by the Qatar Football Association (QFA) to lead the enhancement of professional football in Qatar. This new body was a permanent committee within the QFA and was eventually turned into what is now known as the Qatar Stars League (QSL) in 2008.
The ambition was to develop professional football within Qatar while fulfilling the Asian Football Confederation’s requirements as a professional league. 
The QSL is responsible for managing all commercial, broadcast, marketing, ticketing and administrative matters relating to the league, and its 12 member clubs.
The league's most recent championship winners were Al Sadd Sports Club. The most historically-successful team in the league are also Al Sadd, with 14 shields to their credit.
The league currently features 12 clubs, with the bottom team straightaway getting relegated at the end of season and the top side from the Second Division automatically gaining promotion. There will be a play-off between the 11th-placed QSL side and second-placed Second Division club for the right to play in the top flight.
Besides the domestic league competition, the QSL runs the Qatar Cup, played by the top-four First Division teams at the end of season, and QSL Cup.
The teams also compete in the QFA-organised tournaments — season-opening Sheikh Jassim Cup and Amir Cup played every season by 18 First and Second Division clubs. The league has been won by 12 different clubs since its inception.
During the 2017-18 season, the QSL was renamed as QNB Stars League following a sponsorship deal signed with the Qatar National Bank. 


To be among the top three leagues in Asia by 2020.


To promote, develop and support a professional football platform in order to bring all people together through passion for the game.