Qatar Cup history

The Qatar Cup, formally known as the heir apparent cup is the traditional end of season tournament involving the top four sides in the QSL.  The straight knock out competition involves two semifinal matches, with the winners progressing to the final.

The first tournament was held during the 1994/1995 season as the heir apparent cup, a mark of respect to the rulers of the state of Qatar. Al Rayyan was crowned winners after defeating Al Arabi in the final. The tournament continued under the same guise until the 2013/2014 season.

That year, the competition was rebranded to the Qatar Cup to represent the great state of Qatar and its people. El Jaish won the inaugural edition of the tournament defeating bitter rivals Lekhwiya 4-3 after a penalty shootout.

The tournament is managed under the guidance of the Qatar Stars League, and is seen as the traditional end of season tournament and an important opportunity to lift silverware for the sides of the QSL.