The Brothers Act in QNB Stars League!


The 2017-18 season QNB Stars League was also noted for the strong presence of eight pairs of brothers. They were siblings off the field, but fighters on it, true to the sportsmanship and values of the game.

As the world celebrates Siblings Day on 10th April, QSL Online takes a look at them.

Among them, the goalkeeper duo is Muhannad Naim (Al Arabi) and Yazan Naim (Al Ahli). Both had a good season, especially Muhannad who did well with the national team as well.

Al Gharafa forward Ahmed Alaaeldin and Al Rayyan right-back Mohammed played key roles for their teams. They also excelled in both QNB Stars League and AFC Champions League.

Then there are right-back Yusuf Muftah in Al Gharafa and left-back Khalid in new champions Al Duhail. They both started their career with Al Wakrah, now the Second Division runners-up.

Al Duhail also have Ali Afif, while his younger brother Akram dons the jersey of Al Sadd. Ali was one of the main players in Algerian coach Djamel Belmadi’s scheme of things before he got injured, while Akram, who joined The Wolves from Spanish club Villarreal in the January transfer period, is faring very well.

Abdulmajid Anad (Al Gharafa), Abdulhamid Anad (Al Rayyan) and Abdulrahman Anad (Al Arabi) form the trio of brothers in the QNB Stars League, although they did not appear much with their clubs. Abdulrahman was out of action from the start of this season with a cruciate ligament injury.

Ahmad and Saif Hassan Al Mohannadi appeared in some league matches for Al Khor.

Next were Mohammed (Al Khor) and Ahmad Badr Sayyar (Al Sadd). While, Mohammed was a regular, Ahmad played only in some games.

Goalkeeper Mohamed Mubarak and defender Meshaal Mubarak both represented Al Ahli this season. Meshaal announced his retirement after their last league match against Al Rayyan. He played for four clubs in all.

Of them, three sets of brothers will have the chance to play in the elite Qatar Cup, featuring the top four clubs in the QNB Stars League.

They are Ahmed and Mohammed Alaaeldin, Yusuf and Khalid Muftah and Ali and Akram Afif.